10 Questions With ... Jeremy Pascale

August 06, 2021

Jeremy Pascale is a golf instructor in Southern California. A transplant from New Jersey, he embraces the California outdoor lifestyle, and you can find him surfing or snowboarding when he's not playing or teaching golf.

What was your first experience with your passion?
My first experience with golf was with my great grandfather. He lived in an old retirement community, took me to a par three golf course that was there with my brother. We went out and we hit shots and I thought it was the coolest thing being outside, all the beautiful trees. I thought it was really cool how the grass was cut. I just had an instant attachment of being out in the woods and playing a game where we were hitting through trees and we're trying to hit a ball to a flag and I just really grabbed my attention.

I have quite a few passions though. I would say golf is my number one, obviously that helps me pay my bills, but then anytime I'm not playing golf, I am surfing, snowboarding, mountain biking, hiking. 

When and how do you incorporate your passion into your daily wellness routine?

I always make sure that I am hitting balls daily, that I'm working on something in my game. Luckily with my job, I get to practice golf for the most part, but it's incorporated in every part of my day. I couldn't see my life going without golf in a daily.

Where’s your favorite place to spend time outdoors in California?
For me, it just depends on the season. In the summertime, I wouldn't want to really be anywhere else but Newport Beach, where we got waves and good golf courses and it's a little cooler. Of course I'm a big mountain guy in the winters. I love to be able to spend time up at Mammoth -- I love going up to Mammoth as well in the summer and doing mountain biking and all that. But for me, beach or mountains is where I want to be.

What’s your most memorable outdoor experience?
Winning dirt bike races as a kid. Those days were some of the most fun days, I spent them with my father, where we traveled all over the country and spent a lot of time in a Winnebago driving all over in the summers and winning races with my dad. I felt like it was a team thing and coming in and seeing how stoked he was, it was an experience I'll never forget.

What’s your favorite way to drink coffee? Hot or cold brew? 
I'm definitely hot. I do like cold brew -- if I'm going to be right outside in the heat, I am going to drink a cold brew. But I would say 90% of the time I'm drinking hot coffee.

Do you drink espresso, or drip coffee? 
I do like both. My girlfriend has one of those espresso machines in our house, so that makes it too easy for me. So right now I've been drinking a lot of the double shots.

Do you take it with cream, sugar, or straight black? 
I'll do just a bit, a little dab of heavy cream, no sugar. Just a little bit of heavy cream in and I'm good to go.

What’s your current home brewing setup? 
So we got, well, we got a regular grind coffee pot. I like that sometimes. Then we have the espresso machine and I like the espressos from it. And then we have a milk frother, so we can make lattes and stuff. We got like our whole little shop at the house. We could make everything.

What’s your all-time vintage favorite — car, truck, board, music, art? 
I mean, if I was going to have an ultimate vintage car, I fell in love with that  car in the movie "Gone in 60 seconds," the 1967 Shelby Mustang, I'm a big Shelby guy. I loved that movie. So yeah, I'd say if I could do something vintage, I'd be getting a Shelby Mustang.

If you had to pick: Mountains, beach, or desert? 
I'd go beach. It's just the connection that I have with the ocean. I could go a little bit without it, but I think I could go more time without snowboarding than I could surfing. And as I get older, I feel like I'd be able to surf longer than snowboard a little bit. So I stick by the beach if I had to choose. 





x